Panic is spreading like wildfire across the internet after reports that people now get notified if you screenshot their Instagram posts. In other words, we’re all doomed.
But never fear! Because we’ve done a little bit of investigating (puts on detective hat) and figured out what the deal is with Instagram’s new feature. Here’s what’s up.
A user will only be notified of a screenshot of Instagram’s new Snapchat-esque DMs, the ones explained in this handy video:
As Instagram’s announcement about the feature explains “Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot."
But as for regular Instagram posts or Stories, nothing’s changed – people will definitely not be alerted if you screengrab them. So go right ahead and screenshot your nemesis and send it to your mates with sassy comments, you big creep.